11

I remember that morning very clearly.  I had been working on a stressful project at work, so, on September 10, I had arranged to stay at home the next day and work on my project without any interruptions.  I had a deadline coming up, and as a team leader on the project, I had too many distractions in the office to provide enough focus on this work.

As usual, my alarm went off at 6:00 AM (Pacific time).  KINK FM 101.9 was my station and I was unusually groggy when I woke up, or as it seemed.  The DJ on the radio was receiving information about a plane that was off course over Manhattan.  No, wait, a plane has hit one of the towers of the World Trade Center! 

I wasn’t sure what I was hearing and really it hadn’t registered, but I got out of bed and went downstairs to turn on the TV news, as I usually did before I started the coffee maker or went to the basement to turn on the computer.

There I saw it, the burning tower.  I couldn’t believe it but the original thought everyone had was that it was just a plane off course and a horrible standalone accident.  I ran downstairs to turn on the computer and check my work email, knowing I would need to start the day.  However the sounds from the TV upstairs did not sound real.

Back upstairs, I couldn’t leave the TV.  Everything was just so surreal.  I could not believe that was happening and it turned into the longest day of my life.

And I never got any of my work done…

I will never forget that day in September. The world changed that day.  My world changed that day. 

Leave a Reply

